2014 New Building Canada Fund: Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component, National/Regional Projects
Project Business Case Guide for Proposed Projects Identified by Provinces/Territories

Purpose

The 2014 New Building Canada Fund–Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component–National/Regional Projects (PTIC–NRP) provides funding for projects of national and regional significance, with a focus on projects that support economic growth, a clean environment and stronger communities. Under the PTIC, Provinces and Territories are the Government of Canada's key interlocutors. Projects under PTIC–NRP will be identified by provincial or territorial partners. Only projects identified by a Province or Territory will be assessed under the terms of the PTIC–NRP. As such, eligible recipients are encouraged to contact their respective Provincial or Territorial government if interested in being considered for funding under the PTIC. Provinces and territories are required to prioritize projects for all outstanding NBCF-PTIC funding allocations by April 1, 2018.

In order to ensure these program objectives are achieved, all projects under the PTIC–NRP must be deemed eligible under the PTIC–NRP program terms and conditions, must be supported by a project business case demonstrating how the project meets both the common project criteria, as well as category specific outcomes and project criteria.

The project business case forms the basis of a detailed federal review that will inform a departmental recommendation regarding approval-in-principle of the project. Should your project be approved-in-principle, you will receive a letter from the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities that outlines, among other details, the conditions of federal funding. Notably, eligible project costs can be incurred as of the date of the approval-in-principle letter. Reimbursement of eligible costs is subject to the signing of a project contribution agreement.

This guide has been prepared to assist you in providing Infrastructure Canada with the information required to complete and submit a project business case for departmental officials to undertake the detailed federal review of your project. Once the business case is submitted, Infrastructure Canada officials may seek clarification or additional information.

Please note that only those projects that have been deemed eligible, and for which a provincial or territorial partner has submitted a business case will be reviewed and considered for funding under the PTIC–NRP.

Date modified:

Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 : Volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales, Projets nationaux/régionaux
Guide de préparation des plan d'affaires pour les projets proposés identifiés par les provinces/territoires

Objectif

Le sous-volet Projets nationaux/régionaux du volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales (PNR–VIPT) du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 fournit du financement pour des projets d'importance nationale et régionale, particulièrement aux projets qui soutiennent la croissance économique, l'assainissement de l'environnement et le renforcement des collectivités. Dans le cadre du VIPT, les provinces et les territoires sont les ministères provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des infrastructures. Les projets au titre du PNR–VIPT seront identifiés par les partenaires provinciaux ou territoriaux. Seuls les projets identifiés par une province ou un territoire seront évalués aux termes du PNR–VIPT. On encourage donc les bénéficiaires admissibles à communiquer avec leur gouvernement provincial ou territorial respectif s'ils souhaitent obtenir un financement dans le cadre du VIPT. Les provinces et les territoires devront accorder la priorité aux projets du VIPT d’ici le 1er avril 2018.

Pour veiller à ce que l'on atteigne ces objectifs du programme, tout projet présenté dans le cadre du PNR–VIPT doit être soutenu par un plan d'affaires qui démontre de quelle façon le projet satisfait d'une part, aux critères communs à tous les projets, et d'autre part, aux critères de projet et aux résultats propres à la catégorie concernée.

Le plan d'affaires du projet constitue le fondement de l'examen fédéral détaillé qui orientera la recommandation ministérielle concernant l'approbation de principe du projet. Si votre projet obtient une approbation de principe, vous recevrez une lettre du ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités précisant, les conditions du financement fédéral. Il importe de souligner que les coûts admissibles du projet peuvent être engagés à partir de la date de la lettre d'approbation de principe. Le remboursement des dépenses admissibles est conditionnel à la signature d'une entente de contribution relative au projet.

Le présent guide a été préparé pour vous aider à fournir à Infrastructure Canada l'information nécessaire pour élaborer et soumettre un plan d'affaires pour votre projet afin que les représentants du Ministère puissent en effectuer l'examen fédéral détaillé. Une fois le plan d'affaires soumis, les représentants d'Infrastructure Canada pourraient vous demander des éclaircissements ou de l'information supplémentaire.

Veuillez noter que seuls seront examinés aux fins d'un financement au titre du PNR–VIPT les projets qui auront été jugés admissibles, et pour lesquels les partenaires provinciaux ou territoriaux ont soumis un plan d'affaires en bonne et due forme.

Date de modification :