2014 New Building Canada Fund:
Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component
National and Regional Projects

PDF Version

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Latest information about allocations

What is it?

The $10-billion Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component (PTIC) provides funding to support infrastructure projects of national, regional and local significance that contribute to objectives related to economic growth, a clean environment and stronger communities. To support a wide range of infrastructure needs, the PTIC is divided into two sub-components:

  • National and Regional Projects (PTICNRP): includes $9 billion for projects that are nationally and regionally significant, and are predominantly medium- and large scale in nature; and
  • Small Communities Fund (PTICSCF): $1 billion for projects in communities with fewer than 100,000 residents through the Small Communities Fund (PTICSCF). The PTICSCF ensures that small communities can benefit from significant funding supporting economic prosperity.

Why is it important?

The PTIC is an allocation-based program that recognizes and supports the important role that provinces, territories, and municipalities play in helping to build Canada's public infrastructure. Through the $9-billion PTIC-NRP, the Government of Canada will support medium to large scale infrastructure projects across 19 categories of investment that will encourage job creation, and economic growth. These infrastructure investments will allow people and goods to move more freely, increase the potential for innovation and economic development, improve the environment and support stronger, safer communities.

How does it work?

Over the duration of the 10-year 2014 New Building Canada Fund, each province and territory will receive a base amount of $250 million plus a per capita allocation based on the Statistics Canada Final 2011 Census. Provinces and territories are required to prioritize projects for all outstanding NBCF-PTIC funding allocations by April 1, 2018. Eligible projects will be for the construction, renewal, rehabilitation or material enhancement of infrastructure for public use or benefit and must fall under one of the following categories:

  • Highways and roads
  • Public transit infrastructure
  • Disaster mitigation infrastructure
  • Connectivity and broadband
  • Innovation
  • Wastewater
  • Green energy
  • Drinking water
  • Solid waste management
  • Brownfield redevelopment
  • Local and regional airports
  • Short-line rail infrastructure
  • Short-sea shipping
  • Northern infrastructure (applies to Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories only)
  • Passenger ferries services infrastructure
  • Culture
  • Recreation
  • Tourism
  • Civic assets and municipal buildings

Eligible recipients under the PTICNRP are:

  1. A province or territory, or a municipal or regional government established by or under provincial or territorial statute;
  2. A band council within the meaning of section 2 of the Indian Act; or a government or authority established pursuant to a Self-Government Agreement or a Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada and an Aboriginal people of Canada, that has been approved, given effect and declared valid by federal legislation;
  3. A public sector body that is established by or under provincial or territorial statute or by regulation or is wholly owned by a province, territory, municipal or regional government;
  4. A public or not-for-profit institution that is directly or indirectly authorized, under the terms of provincial, territorial or federal statute, or Royal Charter, to deliver post-secondary courses or programs that lead to recognized and transferable post-secondary credentials, or a public or not-for-profit Aboriginal-controlled post-secondary institution; and
  5. A private sector body, including for-profit organizations and not-for-profit organizations. In the case of for-profit organizations, they will need to be in partnership with one or more of the entities referred to above.

Federal entities, including federal Crown Corporations, are not eligible recipients.

A proposal for an on-reserve* project must demonstrate project benefits extending beyond the reserve community (this applies to the provinces, not the territories).

[*]On-reserve means on-reserve lands, or on any Crown lands or lands set aside by the Crown that are designated to become reserve lands.

Federal Cost-Sharing and Stacking

Generally speaking, projects will be federally cost-shared on a one-third basis. The maximum federal contribution for public transit projects, and, for highways and major roads and disaster mitigation projects where the asset is provincially-owned is up to 50 per cent. The maximum contribution is up to 25 per cent for projects with for-profit private sector proponents.

For projects located in the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, the federal government will fund up to 75 per cent of total eligible costs. For projects with a for-profit private sector proponent, however, the cap would be up to 25 per cent. More information on cost-sharing and stacking.

How to apply?

If you are an eligible recipient and would like to have your project considered for funding under the PTICNRP, you are encouraged to contact your provincial or territorial ministry responsible for infrastructure to determine the process for submitting business cases and deadlines.

A Business Case Guide is available to assist in the development of business cases. Business cases under the PTICNRP will only be accepted for projects that have been identified by provincial and territorial partners, and that are deemed eligible under the program terms and conditions.

Service Standards

See Infrastructure Canada's service standards for the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component – National and Regional Projects.

Contact Information

  • British Columbia
    • Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Alberta
    • Alberta Infrastructure
  • Saskatchewan
    • Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure
  • Manitoba
    • Manitoba Municipal Government
  • Ontario
    • Ministry of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure
  • Quebec
    • Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor — Sous-secrétariat aux infrastructures publiques
  • New Brunswick
    • Regional Development Corporation
  • Nova Scotia
    • Finance and Treasury Board
  • Prince Edward Island
    • Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
    • Department of Transportation and Works
  • Yukon
    • Department of Community Services
  • Northwest Territories
    • Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
  • Nunavut
    • Community and Government Services

Infrastructure Canada contact information

General questions and comments on the PTIC program can be addressed to Infrastructure Canada:

Email: info@infc.gc.ca
Telephone Infrastructure Canada: 613-948-1148
Toll Free Number: 1-877-250-7154
Mailing Address:
Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component
180 Kent Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON  K1P 0B6

Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 :
Volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales
Projets nationaux et régionaux

Version PDF

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléant, tels que PDF, PPT et fichiers ZIP, visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléant.

Les informations les plus récentes sur les affectations

De quoi s'agit-il?

Le volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales (VIPT) de 10 milliards de dollars fournit du financement à l'appui de projets d'infrastructure d'importance nationale, régionale et locale qui contribuent à l'atteinte d'objectifs liés à la croissance économique, à l'assainissement de l'environnement et au renforcement des collectivités. Pour soutenir un large éventail de besoins en infrastructure, le VIPT est divisé en deux sous-volets :

  • Projets nationaux et régionaux (PNR–VIPT) : 9 milliards de dollars pour des projets qui sont importants à l'échelle nationale et régionale et qui sont principalement de moyenne et de grande envergure; et
  • Fonds des petites collectivités (FPC–VIPT) : 1 milliard de dollars pour des projets réalisés dans des collectivités de moins de 100 000 habitants dans le cadre du Fonds des petites collectivités (FPC–VIPT). Le FPC–VIPT permet de s'assurer que les petites collectivités ont accès à un financement important pour encourager la prospérité économique.

Pourquoi est-il important?

Le VIPT est un programme fondé sur des allocations qui reconnaît et soutient le rôle important que jouent les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités pour aider à construire les infrastructures publiques du Canada. Grâce au PNR–VIPT de 9 milliards de dollars, le gouvernement du Canada financera des projets d'infrastructure de moyenne et de grande envergure dans le cadre de 19 catégories d'investissement qui favoriseront la création d'emplois et la croissance économique. Ces investissements en infrastructure permettront aux personnes et aux biens de circuler plus librement, d'augmenter le potentiel d'innovation et le développement économique, d'améliorer l'environnement et établir des collectivités plus fortes et plus sécuritaires.

Comment fonctionne-t-il?

Au cours de la durée du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 de 10 ans, chaque province et territoire recevra un montant de base de 250 millions de dollars ainsi qu'une affectation au prorata de la population, basé sur le recensement final de 2011 de Statistique Canada. Les provinces et les territoires devront accorder la priorité aux projets du VIPT d’ici le 1er avril 2018. Les projets admissibles viseront la construction, le renouvellement, la remise en état ou l'amélioration substantielle d'infrastructures destinées à l'usage ou au profit du public, et doivent entrer dans l'une des catégories suivantes :

  • autoroutes et routes
  • infrastructures de transport en commun
  • infrastructures servant à l'atténuation des catastrophes
  • infrastructures de connectivité et à large bande
  • innovation
  • eaux usées
  • énergie verte
  • eau potable
  • gestion des déchets solides
  • réaménagement de friches industrielles
  • aéroports locaux et régionaux
  • infrastructures du transport ferroviaire sur courtes distances
  • transport maritime sur courtes distances
  • infrastructures du Nord (s'applique au Yukon, au Nunavut et aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest seulement)
  • infrastructures liées aux services de traversiers pour passagers
  • culture
  • loisirs
  • tourisme
  • bâtiments et actifs municipaux

Les bénéficiaires admissibles au titre du PNR–VIPT sont :

  1. Une province, un territoire, une administration municipale ou une administration régionale établie par une loi provinciale ou territoriale ou en vertu d'une telle loi;
  2. Un conseil de bande au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les indiens; ou un gouvernement ou une autorité établi en vertu d'une entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ou d'une entente sur la revendication territoriale globale conclue entre Sa Majesté la Reine, la chef du Canada et un peuple autochtone du Canada, qui a été approuvée, mise en vigueur et déclarée valide par la loi fédérale;
  3. Un organisme du secteur public établi par une loi provinciale ou territoriale ou en vertu d'une telle loi ou par un règlement, ou qui appartient entièrement à une province, à un territoire, à une administration municipale ou à une administration régionale;
  4. Un établissement public ou à but non lucratif qui est directement ou indirectement autorisé, en vertu d'une loi provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale, ou de la charte royale, à offrir des cours ou des programmes de niveau postsecondaire qui mènent à des attestations d'études postsecondaires reconnues et transférables, ou un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire public ou à but non lucratif contrôlé par les Autochtones; et
  5. Un organisme du secteur privé, y compris une organisation à but lucratif ou une organisation à but non lucratif. S'il s'agit d'une organisation à but lucratif, elle devra être en partenariat avec une ou plusieurs des entités mentionnées ci-dessus.

Les entités fédérales, y compris les sociétés d'État fédérales, ne sont pas des bénéficiaires admissibles.

Une proposition concernant un projet situé dans une réserve* doit démontrer que les avantages du projet dépasseront la communauté de la réserve (cela s'applique aux provinces, et non aux territoires).

[*]Dans une réserve signifie sur les terres d'une réserve, ou sur des terres de la Couronne ou des terres que la Couronne a réservées en vue d'en faire des terres de réserve.

Partage des coûts et cumul des fonds fédéraux

De façon générale, la part assumée par le fédéral au titre du partage des coûts représentera un tiers des coûts. Pour les projets des catégories Autoroutes et routes et Atténuation des catastrophes où le bien appartient à la province, et pour ceux de la catégorie Infrastructures de transport en commun la contribution fédérale maximale est de 50 pour cent pour les projets de transport en commun et les projets visant des autoroutes et des routes principales appartenant aux provinces. La contribution maximale est de 25 pour cent pour les projets dont les promoteurs sont du secteur privé à but lucratif et les projets réalisés en PPP.

Pour les projets situés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Yukon et au Nunavut, le gouvernement fédéral financera jusqu'à 75 pour cent du total des coûts admissibles. Pour les projets dont le promoteur est du secteur privé à but lucratif, la limite sera jusqu'à de 25 pour cent. Plus de renseignements sur le partage des coûts et le cumul.

Comment présenter une demande?

Si vous êtes un bénéficiaire admissible et que vous souhaitez soumettre un projet aux fins de financement dans le cadre du VIPT, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec votre ministère provincial ou territorial responsable des infrastructures pour connaître le processus pour présenter un plan d'affaires et les échéanciers.

Un Guide de préparation des plans d'affaires est disponible pour aider à élaborer des propositions de projet et des plans d'affaires. Les plans d'affaires aux termes du VIPT–PNR seront requis seulement pour les projets identifiés par les partenaires provinciaux ou territoriaux, et qui auront été jugés admissibles aux termes modalités de programme.

Normes de service

Voir les normes de service d'Infrastructure Canada relatives au Projets nationaux et régionaux du volet volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales.

Coordonnées

  • Colombie-Britannique
    • Ministère des Transports et de l'Infrastructure
  • Alberta
    • Infrastructure Alberta
  • Saskatchewan
    • Ministère des autoroutes et de l'infrastructure
  • Manitoba
    • Ministère des Administrations municipales du Manitoba
  • Ontario
    • Ministère du Développement économique, de l'Emploi et de l'infrastructure
  • Québec
    • Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor – Sous-secrétariat aux infrastructures publiques
  • Nouveau-Brunswick
    • Société de développement régional
  • Nouvelle-Écosse
    • Finances et Conseil du Trésor
  • Île-du-Prince-Édouard
    • Ministère des Transports et du Renouvellement de l'infrastructure
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
    • Ministère des Transports et des Travaux publics
  • Yukon
    • Ministère des Services aux collectivités
  • Territoires du Nord-Ouest
    • Ministère des Affaires municipales et communautaires
  • Nunavut
    • Services communautaires et gouvernementaux

Coordonnées d'Infrastructure Canada

Les questions générales et les commentaires sur le programme VIPT peuvent être adressés à Infrastructure Canada:

Courriel : info@infc.gc.ca
Téléphone Infrastructure Canada : 613-948-1148
Numéro sans frais : 1-877-250-7154
Adresse postale :
Programme volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales
180, rue Kent, bureau 1100
Ottawa (ON)  K1P 0B6

Date de modification :