Public and private sectors have a role to play – Project Recipients

PDF Version (Size: 132.06 KB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

What is it?

The design of the New Building Canada Plan reflects the fact that all levels of government and the private sector have a role to play. In fact, 95 per cent of public infrastructure is owned by provincial, territorial, and municipal governments.

Why is it important?

The wide range of recipients under the New Building Canada Fund allows the Government of Canada to focus on projects that contribute to economic growth and the enhancement of economic productivity.

The Government of Canada will continue to be a strong partner by working with the provinces, territories and municipalities as well as other partners to continue enhancing Canada's infrastructure.

How does it work?

In addition to provincial, territorial and municipal governments and their related entities, private-sector bodies (both for-profit and not-for-profit) and Aboriginal entities, the New Building Canada Fund will include recipients that allow the Government to fund:

  • Economically focused projects that are critical to the support of international trade (including rail infrastructure, port infrastructure, and Intelligent Transportation Systems); and,
  • Projects under the innovation category (post-secondary institutions).

The eligible recipients under the New Building Canada Fund include:

  • A province or territory, or a municipal or regional government;
  • A band council within the meaning of section 2 of the Indian Act, or a government or authority established pursuant to a Self Government Agreement or a Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement, given effect and declared valid by federal legislation;
  • A public-sector body that is established by or under provincial or territorial statute;
  • A private-sector body, including for-profit organizations and not-for-profit organizations;
  • A Canada Port Authority, international bridge and/or tunnel authority (unless a federal Crown corporation), or U.S. federal and state-level transportation authority (for border related projects). (National Infrastructure Component only); and,
  • Public or not-for-profit post-secondary institutions (Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component only).
Date modified: