How to Apply for Funding Under the New Building Canada Fund

The New Building Canada Fund was officially launched on March 28, 2014. The Minister of Infrastructure, Communities, and Intergovernmental Affairs has also provided provinces and territories with the information required to start identifying priority projects and apply for funding — including detailed program guides, which are available below.

The National Infrastructure Component and the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component have different processes. You can find details on both processes below.

National Infrastructure Component

The $4-billion National Infrastructure Component (NIC) provides funding for projects of national significance, that have broad public benefits, and that contribute to long-term economic growth and prosperity. The project submission process is currently open (i.e. without a deadline). To apply for funding, proponents must submit a detailed business case to Infrastructure Canada that demonstrates how the project meets the program's objectives, as well as category specific outcomes and criteria.

Current calls for proposals

Infrastructure Canada is now accepting completed business cases for projects within all seven eligible categories:

  • Highways and major roads
  • Public transit
  • Rail infrastructure
  • Disaster mitigation
  • Local and regional airports
  • Port infrastructure
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems

Completed project business cases should be emailed to: nic-vin@infc.gc.ca

Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component

The $10-billion Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component (PTIC) provides funding to support infrastructure projects of national, regional and local significance that contribute to objectives related to economic growth, a clean environment and stronger communities. To support a wide range of infrastructure needs, the PTIC is divided into two sub-components:

National and Regional Projects (PTICNRP): $9 billion for projects that are nationally and regionally significant, and are predominantly medium- and large scale in nature. If you are an eligible recipient for National and Regional Projects and would like to have your project considered for funding under the PTICNRP, you are encouraged to contact your provincial or territorial ministry responsible for infrastructure for National and Regional Projects to determine the process for submitting project proposals and deadlines.

A Business Case Guide for the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component is available to assist in the development of business cases. Business cases under the PTICNRP will only be accepted for projects that have been identified by provincial and territorial partners, and that are deemed eligible under the program terms and conditions.

Learn more about how to submit your project for funding consideration.

Small Communities Fund (PTICSCF): $1 billion for projects in communities with fewer than 100,000 residents through the Small Communities Fund. This will ensure that small communities have access to significant funding to support economic prosperity.

All proposed projects must provide basic information that includes the name of the municipality, title of the project, the eligible category and subcategory, a brief description of the project, financial information, project location as well as planned start and end dates. If you are an eligible recipient for Small Communities Fund and would like to have your project considered for funding under the PTIC, and to determine the process for submitting project proposals and deadlines, you are encouraged to contact your respective provincial or territorial ministry responsible for infrastructure for Small Communities Fund. You can also learn more about how the Small Communities Fund works by reading the Program Overview.

Date modified:

Comment présenter une demande de financement au titre du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada

Le Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada a été officiellement lancé le 28 mars 2014. Le ministre de l'Infrastructure, des Collectivités et des Affaires intergouvernementales a également fourni aux provinces et aux territoires l'information nécessaire pour commencer à identifier des projets prioritaires et à présenter des demandes de financement; des guides détaillés sur le programme sont entre autres disponibles ci-dessous.

Les processus relatifs au Volet Infrastructures nationales et au volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales sont différents. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des détails sur chacun de ces processus.

Volet Infrastructures nationales

À l'heure actuelle, Infrastructure Canada n'accepte plus de demandes additionnelles dans le cadre du volet Infrastructures nationales (VIN) du NFCC 2014.

Veuillez noter que le volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales demeurera une source de financement disponible pour les projets dans le cadre du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada jusqu'au 31 mars 2018.

Le gouvernement mène des consultations auprès des provinces, des territoires, des municipalités et des dirigeants autochtones, ainsi qu'auprès d'investisseurs institutionnels internationaux et d'autres intervenants, afin de déterminer adéquatement les programmes de financement des infrastructures qui seront requis pour répondre aux besoins des Canadiens et pour favoriser le développement économique à venir du Canada.

Volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales

Le volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales (VIPT) de 10 milliards de dollars offre du financement visant à soutenir des projets d'infrastructure d'importance nationale, régionale et locale qui contribuent à atteindre les objectifs liés à la croissance économique, à l'assainissement de l'environnement et au renforcement des collectivités. En vue de répondre à un large éventail de besoins en matière d'infrastructure, le VIPT est divisé en deux sous-volets :

Projets nationaux/régionaux (PNR–VIPT) : 9 milliards de dollars pour des projets qui sont d'importance nationale et régionale et qui sont principalement de moyenne et de grande envergure. Si vous êtes un bénéficiaire admissible pour les Projets nationaux/régionaux et que vous souhaitez soumettre un projet aux fins de financement dans le cadre du VIPT, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec votre ministère provincial ou territorial responsable des infrastructures pour les Projets nationaux/régionaux pour connaître le processus pour présenter une proposition de projet et les échéanciers.

Un Guide de préparation des plans d'affaires du volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales est disponible pour aider à élaborer des plans d'affaires. Les plans d'affaires aux termes du PNR–VIPT seront acceptés seulement pour les projets identifiés par les partenaires provinciaux ou territoriaux, et qui auront été jugés admissibles en vertu des conditions de programme.

Apprenez comment soumettre votre projet pour un examen aux fins de financement.

Fonds des petites collectivités (FPC–VIPT) : 1 milliard de dollars pour des projets réalisés dans des collectivités de moins de 100 000 habitants. On s'assure ainsi que les petites collectivités ont accès à un financement considérable qui appuiera la prospérité économique.

Tous les projets proposés doivent fournir des renseignements de base, entre autres le nom de la municipalité, le titre du projet, la catégorie et la sous-catégorie admissibles, une brève description du projet, des renseignements financiers, l'emplacement du projet, ainsi que les dates de début et de fin des travaux prévues. Si vous êtes un bénéficiaire admissible pour le Fonds des collectivités petites et que vous souhaitez soumettre votre projet aux fins de financement dans la cadre du VIPT, et pour connaître le processus pour présenter une proposition de projet et les échéanciers, on vous invite à communiquez avec votre ministère responsable de l'infrastructure dans votre province ou territoire pour le Fonds des collectivités petites. Vous pouvez aussi en apprendre davantage sur le fonctionnement du Fonds pour les petites collectivités en lisant l'aperçu du programme.

Date de modification :