Terms of Use on Twitter

Infrastructure Canada (INFC) leads federal efforts to ensure that Canadians benefit from world-class, modern public infrastructure. The department is a key funding partner, working with provinces, territories, municipalities, the private sector and non-profit organizations, along with other federal departments and agencies to help build and revitalize the infrastructure Canadians need and use every day.

Infrastructure Canada's Twitter pages are a great way to stay on top of the department's news and information. We look forward to sharing information with you through Twitter, but always encourage visits to our website for more detailed information.

INFC's use of Twitter is intended to encourage interaction between the user of this platform and INFC, and in no way verifies or confirms the accuracy of user comments. By using Twitter you are bound by the Twitter Terms of Service and its related policies and rules, which govern your access to and use of Twitter. You are strongly encouraged to read Twitter's Terms of Service and Twitter's Privacy Policy.

By participating in, subscribing to, joining or following INFC's Twitter page, you are also agreeing to INFC's Terms of Use. These terms do not modify your agreement with Twitter.

INFC does not endorse any of the views expressed in comments posted by users. Comments in violation of these Terms of Use may result in INFC blocking the user in question to prevent further inappropriate tweets.

Content

The INFC Twitter pages (INFC_eng and INFC_fra) are mainly used as an alternative method for accessing the material posted on INFC's website and delivered through our web feed. Followers of INFC Twitter pages can expect to receive notifications of news releases and other INFC updates, as well as re-tweets of select information of value to our followers. If you are looking for more information about the Department, information is available on the INFC website.

Retweets

INFC may retweet relevant material posted by other Government of Canada Twitter accounts and/or other accounts determined to be relevant to our followers and of significant value. This may include cross-linking, research findings, statistics, relevant events and conferences.

Re-tweeting content does not imply endorsement of any particular user.

Users and followers may retweet (RT) INFC's tweets within Twitter, provided that INFC's content is not changed.

Direct Messages and @replies

All other @replies and direct messages, as well as emails sent to us via the Twitter pages will be read, however, we are not able to reply individually to all messages. Each one will be handled on a case-by-case basis and responded to when deemed appropriate. If a response is desired, INFC should be contacted at info@infc.gc.ca.

We will pay attention to emerging themes and helpful suggestions. If we feel a comment or a question posed to INFC requires a response and/or a greater level of detail, we may develop a formal response and distribute the information through other channels such as our website. Reporters are asked to send questions to Media Relations (media@infc.gc.ca) and to refrain from submitting questions on Twitter.

INFC cannot engage in issues of party politics or answer questions that break the rules of our commenting policy.

Moderating user-generated Tweets

Comments are appreciated and we expect them to be submitted following the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you submit in your comments, and all posted comments are in the public domain. Users may provide video responses as long as they respect this commenting policy.

Twitter has its own "Twitter Terms of Service and Twitter Rules" that describe the limitations to the types of content that can be posted on Twitter and the consequences of any violations. When you post a tweet, you are also indicating your understanding and acceptance of Twitter Terms of Service, Twitter Rules and INFC's Twitter Terms of Use.

INFC reserves the discretionary right to monitor the content posted on its Twitter page and may, without notice or liability to followers or any other person, take steps to inform Twitter if a follower does not abide by Twitter's Terms of Service and Twitter Rules. INFC may also block or remove a follower and delete content pursuant to INFC's own Terms of Use and where such content is deemed by INFC as inappropriate and or falls into any of the following categories:

  • Unlawful, illegal, threatening, abusive, harassing, tortuous, defamatory, vulgar, obscene, libelous, invasive of another's privacy, hateful, derogatory, discriminatory or that may incite or instruct anyone to undertake such activities;
  • Content you do not have a right to make available under any law or under any contractual or fiduciary relationships;
  • Infringes intellectual property rights or the proprietary rights of others;
  • Is confidential, sensitive or otherwise inappropriate to be placed on INFC's page or in a public forum generally.

Links to Other Websites

From time to time INFC Twitter pages may tweet links to websites that are not under the control of INFC or the Government of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience of the users. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the content, nor does it endorse the sites or their content.

Frequency of Tweets

The number of tweets will vary; depending on the number of media articles and other relevant material published each day. During some periods, we may tweet more or less frequently than average. You should expect to receive tweets during regular working hours, Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT. Any activity during holidays, after core hours and on weekends would likely be along the lines of emergency or urgent communications of significant value to our followers. Otherwise, the accounts will be relatively inactive during these times.

Availability

INFC Twitter updates are also subject to downtime that may be out of INFC's control, because Twitter servers are managed by a third party. As such, we accept no responsibility for the Twitter network becoming unresponsive or unavailable.

Following and unfollowing

At this time, INFC will only follow other Government institutions and organizations which we believe are relevant to the mandate of our work – specifically, as it relates to infrastructure. This could include following the Twitter pages of non-profit organizations, associations and other governmental agencies.

The appearance of a Twitter user as a follower of the INFC pages does not imply endorsement, nor does INFC following any particular user.

Accessibility

Twitter, as a third party service provider, is not bound by Government of Canada policies for web accessibility.

Please note that most tweets refer to existing content on the INFC website, and that site can be visited for fully accessible content.

Copyright

Information posted by INFC is subject to the Copyright Act of Canada. For more information, see the Terms and Conditions page on the INFC website.

Official Languages

INFC respects the Official Languages Act and is committed to ensuring that information is available in both French and English, of equal quality. INFC's tweets are available in both official languages simply by viewing the appropriate INFC Twitter page: in English on INFC_eng, and in French on INFC_fra.

Through the very nature of the social media forum, content will vary between the English and French Twitter pages, particularly where messages and comments are concerned. Any tweets or retweets that originate from INFC will be made available in both official languages. Responses to direct messages will be made in the official language of origin.

Users should be aware that some links direct users to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and that these sources may only be available in the language in which they are written.

Twitter is available in multiple languages including English and French. To change this user preference, go in your account settings and adjust accordingly.

Privacy

INFC's Twitter pages are not Government of Canada websites and represent our presence on Twitter, a third-party service provider. Users are encouraged to read Twitter's privacy policy.

Information shared with INFC on Twitter is subject to the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, which means that the information you share with INFC's Twitter pages may be captured, stored, accessed, and disclosed in accordance with these acts. Note that access to this information is also readily available directly via the social media site. Users are requested to limit content to matters related to programs or activities of INFC. Information exchanged through interactions between you and INFC may be collected for statistical and analytical purposes. "Interactions" include questions and answers via direct replies, comments, retweets and other interactions where you provide feedback on content that the Department has posted, or when the Department provides you with information based on content that you post.

To protect your own privacy and the privacy of others, INFC recommends that you do not include personal information in any content you post. Personal information includes home addresses and telephone numbers, photographs containing images of identifiable individuals, and any other information consisting of personal information as defined in paragraph 3 of the Privacy Act. Should you have any questions about your privacy rights as explained in these Terms of Use, please contact the departmental Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator.

Infrastructure Canada employee use of Twitter

Some INFC employees use Twitter in a personal capacity under their own names or pseudonyms. Despite their professional affiliation with INFC, their tweets do not represent the official or unofficial position of INFC and should be considered the product of each individual as a private citizen.

Twitter Chat Terms of Use

  1. Please read the Infrastructure Canada Terms of Use.
  2. During Twitter chats, the Department and/or Minster will only answer questions about the stated topic.
  3. Replies will be posted in the same language as the original tweet. Tweets will not be duplicated in the other official language.
  4. Questions will be answered only during the time period allowed for the Twitter chat.
  5. Depending on the volume of tweets received, the Department and/or Minister may not be able to respond to all tweets.

Additional Information

If you are looking for more information about the Department, please consult our website.

The usual ways of contacting us for official correspondence are detailed in the Contact Us section of our website.

Contact information

INFC's Twitter pages (INFC_eng and INFC_fra) are managed by the E-Communications Team in the Strategic Communications Division of Infrastructure Canada, located at:

180 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1P 0B6
Email: info@infc.gc.ca

For further contact details, please see the Contact Us page on Infrastructure Canada's website.

For media enquiries

Media representatives can contact INFC's Media Relations team (media@infc.gc.ca) during regular working hours and on an emergency basis after regular working hours.

Thank you for taking the time to read our Twitter Terms of Use. We encourage your participation in our discussion and look forward to an active exchange of ideas.

If you have questions about these Terms of Use, please contact us.

Date modified:

Conditions d'utilisation de Twitter

Infrastructure Canada (INFC) guide les efforts déployés par le gouvernement fédéral pour s'assurer que les Canadiens bénéficient d'une infrastructure publique moderne et de calibre mondial. Le Ministère est un partenaire de financement important qui collabore avec les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités, le secteur privé et les organisations sans but lucratif, ainsi qu'avec d'autres organismes et ministères fédéraux, afin de bâtir et de moderniser les infrastructures essentielles à la vie quotidienne des Canadiens.

Les comptes Twitter d'Infrastructure Canada sont un excellent moyen de demeurer au fait des nouvelles et des informations d'INFC. Nous sommes heureux de vous communiquer de l'information sur Twitter, mais nous vous recommandons toujours de consulter notre site Web pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

INFC utilise Twitter pour favoriser l'interaction entre l'utilisateur de cette plateforme et INFC . Infrastructure Canada ne vérifie ni ne confirme en aucun cas l'exactitude des commentaires publiés par les utilisateurs. En utilisant Twitter, vous acceptez les Conditions d'utilisation de Twitter ainsi que ses politiques et règles connexes qui régissent votre accès à Twitter et votre utilisation de ces services. Nous vous recommandons fortement de lire les Conditions d'utilisation de Twitter et la Politique de vie privée de Twitter.

En participant, en vous abonnant et en vous connectant au compte Twitter d'INFC, ou en le suivant, vous acceptez également les Conditions d'utilisation d'INFC. Ces conditions ne modifient pas votre entente avec Twitter.

INFC ne souscrit à aucune opinion exprimée dans les commentaires publiés par les utilisateurs. INFC peut bloquer l'utilisateur dont les commentaires enfreignent les Conditions d'utilisation pour l'empêcher de publier d'autres commentaires inappropriés.

Contenu

Les comptes Twitter d'INFC (INFC_fra et INFC_eng) et du ministre de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités (INFC_minister et ministre_INFC) constituent généralement une autre méthode d'accès aux documents affichés sur le site Web d'INFC. Les abonnés des comptes Twitter d'INFC peuvent s'attendre à recevoir des avis de communiqué de presse et d'autres mises à jour d'INFC, ainsi que des retransmissions de gazouillis (retweets) sur des renseignements importants pour nos abonnés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le Ministère, veuillez consulter le site Web d'INFC.

Retransmissions de gazouillis et @mentions

INFC peut retransmettre des gazouillis pertinents publiés par les comptes Twitter ou d'autres comptes du gouvernement du Canada dont le contenu est jugé utile pour nos abonnés et important. Il peut s'agir de liens croisés, de conclusions de recherche, de statistiques, de conférences et d'événements pertinents.

Le fait de retransmettre un gazouillis ne signifie pas qu'INFC approuve les activités d'un utilisateur en particulier.

Les utilisateurs et les abonnés peuvent retransmettre (RT) des gazouillis d'INFC sur leur compte Twitter, si le contenu d'INFC n'est pas modifié.

INFC peut aussi élaborer du contenu Twitter renfermant des @mentions d’autres utilisateurs de Twitter.

La publication de @mentions ne signifie pas que nous appuyons un utilisateur en particulier ou le contenu se trouvant sur sa page Twitter.

@réponses et messages privés

La totalité des @réponses, des messages privés et des courriels envoyés au compte Twitter seront lus. Cependant, nous ne serons pas en mesure de répondre individuellement à tous les messages. Ceux-ci seront traités au cas par cas et nous y répondrons lorsque nous le jugerons approprié. Pour s'assurer d'obtenir une réponse, il faut communiquer avec INFC à infc.info.infc@canada.ca.

Nous serons attentifs aux nouveaux thèmes et aux suggestions utiles. Si nous jugeons qu'un commentaire ou une question posée à INFC exige une réponse ou des éclaircissements, nous pourrions formuler une réponse officielle et diffuser l'information par l'intermédiaire de nos autres voies de communication, comme notre site Web. Nous demandons aux journalistes d'envoyer leurs questions aux Relations avec les médias (infc.media-medias.infc@canada.ca) et de s'abstenir de poser des questions sur Twitter.

INFC ne peut pas participer à des débats de politique partisane ni répondre à des questions qui contreviennent aux règles de notre politique sur les commentaires.

Modérer les gazouillis (tweets) des utilisateurs

Vos commentaires sont les bienvenus, et nous nous attendons à ce qu'ils respectent les règles générales du discours poli et respectueux. Vous assumez l'entière responsabilité de vos commentaires, et tous les commentaires publiés sont du domaine public. Les utilisateurs peuvent répondre par vidéo, pour autant qu'ils respectent la politique au sujet des commentaires.

Twitter a ses propres Conditions et Règles qui expliquent les limites imposées au contenu pouvant être affiché sur Twitter et qui décrivent les conséquences du non-respect de ces règles. Lorsque vous affichez un commentaire sur Twitter, vous signifiez implicitement que vous avez lu et que vous acceptez les Conditions d'utilisation et les Règles de Twitter, ainsi que les Conditions d'utilisation de Twitter d'INFC.

INFC se réserve le droit de surveiller le contenu publié sur son compte Twitter et peut, sans préavis et sans engager sa responsabilité à l'égard des abonnés ou de quiconque, prendre des mesures pour informer Twitter qu'un abonné ne respecte pas les Conditions et les Règles de Twitter. INFC peut également bloquer ou exclure un abonné ou supprimer du contenu, conformément aux Conditions d'utilisation de Twitter d'INFC, s'il juge que le contenu appartient à l'une des catégories suivantes :

  • Contenu illicite, illégal, menaçant, abusif, vexatoire, délictuel, diffamatoire, vulgaire, obscène, calomnieux, constituant une violation de la vie privée d'un tiers, haineux, dérogatoire ou discriminatoire, ou qui incite quiconque à se livrer à de telles activités ou lui donne instruction de le faire;
  • Contenu que vous n'avez pas le droit de rendre public en vertu de la loi ou d'une relation contractuelle ou fiduciaire;
  • Contenu enfreignant les droits de propriété intellectuelle ou les droits de propriété d'autrui;
  • Contenu confidentiel, sensible ou dont la publication sur le compte Twitter d'INFC ou dans un forum public en général est inappropriée.

Liens vers d'autres sites Web

À l'occasion, les comptes Twitter d'INFC peuvent afficher des gazouillis contenant des liens vers des sites Web qui ne sont pas exploités par INFC ou le gouvernement du Canada. Ces liens sont fournis uniquement à titre informatif pour les utilisateurs. Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable de l'exactitude, de l'actualité ou de la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites, pas plus qu'il ne cautionne ces sites ou leur contenu.

Fréquence des gazouillis

Le nombre de gazouillis variera en fonction du nombre d'articles et d'autres documents pertinents publiés chaque jour. Pendant certaines périodes, nous pouvons publier des gazouillis plus ou moins fréquemment que la moyenne habituelle. Vous pouvez vous attendre à voir de nouveaux gazouillis pendant les heures de travail normales, du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 17 h HNE/HAE. Toute activité ayant lieu pendant les jours fériés, après les heures normales et les fins de semaine concernera probablement des communications d'urgence qui présentent un intérêt important pour nos abonnés. Autrement, les comptes seront relativement inactifs pendant ces périodes.

Disponibilité

Les mises à jour sur Twitter d'INFC peuvent également être retardées par des pannes qui échappent au contrôle d'INFC, puisque les serveurs Twitter sont gérés par un tiers. Ainsi, nous n'acceptons aucune responsabilité si le réseau Twitter ne répond plus ou qu'il n'est pas disponible.

Abonnement et arrêt de l'abonnement

En ce moment, INFC s'abonnera uniquement aux comptes d'autres organismes et institutions du gouvernement fédéral qui, selon nous, présentent un intérêt pour notre mandat, plus précisément en ce qui concerne les infrastructures. Ces abonnements pourraient comprendre les comptes Twitter d'organismes sans but lucratif, d'associations et d'autres organisations non gouvernementales.

La présence d'un utilisateur Twitter en tant qu'abonné du compte d'INFC ne signifie pas que le ministère cautionne cet utilisateur, tout comme lorsque INFC est abonné au compte de tout utilisateur particulier.

Accessibilité

Twitter, à titre de fournisseur de services tiers, n'est pas lié par les politiques du gouvernement du Canada en matière d'accessibilité du Web.

Il est à noter que la plupart des gazouillis renvoient au contenu existant sur le site Web d'INFC, et que vous pouvez consulter ce site pour obtenir le contenu entièrement accessible.

Droits d'auteur

Les renseignements publiés par INFC sont assujettis à Loi sur le droit d'auteur du Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Avis sur le site Web d'INFC.

Langues officielles

INFC respecte la Loi sur les langues officielles et s'engage à garantir que l'information est offerte en français et en anglais et qu'elle est de qualité équivalente. Les comptes Twitter d'INFC sont disponibles dans les deux langues officielles. Il suffit de consulter la page Twitter d'INFC appropriée : en français à INFC_fra et en anglais à INFC_eng, pour ce qui est du contenu du Ministère, en français à ministre_INFC et en anglais à INFC_minister pour ce qui est du contenu du ministre.

En raison de la nature des médias sociaux, le contenu des comptes Twitter en français et en anglais sera différent, particulièrement les messages et les commentaires. Les commentaires d'INFC seront disponibles dans les deux langues officielles. On répondra aux messages privés dans la langue officielle d'origine.

Les utilisateurs doivent savoir que certains liens dirigent les utilisateurs vers des sites d'organismes ou d'autres entités qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et que ces ressources peuvent être disponibles uniquement dans la langue dans laquelle elles sont rédigées.

Twitter est disponible dans plusieurs langues, y compris le français et l'anglais. Pour modifier cette préférence de l'utilisateur, consultez les paramètres de votre compte et réglez-les en conséquence.

Confidentialité

Les comptes Twitter d'INFC ne sont pas des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada, et ils représentent notre présence sur Twitter, un fournisseur de services tiers. Nous recommandons aux utilisateurs de lire la Politique de vie privée de Twitter.

Les renseignements partagés avec INFC sur Twitter sont assujettis aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ce qui signifie que les renseignements que vous partagez sur les comptes Twitter d'INFC peuvent être saisis, stockés, consultés et divulgués en vertu d'une de ces lois. Il est à noter que cette information est également accessible directement sur le site des médias sociaux.

Nous demandons aux utilisateurs de limiter le contenu aux questions touchant les programmes ou les activités d'INFC. Les renseignements échangés lors de vos interactions avec INFC peuvent être recueillis à des fins de production de statistiques et d'analyses. Les « interactions » comprennent les questions et réponses fournies dans les réponses directes, les commentaires, les retransmissions de gazouillis et les autres interactions lors desquelles vous commentez le contenu publié par le Ministère, ou lorsque le Ministère fournit de l'information à partir du contenu que vous avez publié.

Pour protéger votre vie privée et celle des autres, INFC vous recommande de ne pas inclure de renseignements personnels dans vos commentaires ou dans le contenu que vous publiez. Les renseignements personnels comprennent les adresses de domicile, les numéros de téléphone, les photos comportant des images de personnes identifiables et toute autre information comportant des renseignements personnels, selon la définition fournie à l'article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Si vous avez des questions concernant vos droits en matière de confidentialité expliqués dans les présentes Conditions d'utilisation, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur ministériel de l'Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP).

Utilisation de Twitter par les employés d'Infrastructure Canada

Certains employés d'INFC utilisent Twitter à titre personnel, sous leur propre nom ou un pseudonyme. Même s'ils sont professionnellement liés à INFC , leurs gazouillis ne représentent pas la position officielle ou officieuse d'INFC, et ils doivent être considérés comme le produit de chaque personne en tant que citoyen privé.

Conditions d'utilisation pour la discussion Twitter

  1. Veuillez lire les conditions d'utilisation des médias sociaux d'Infrastructure Canada.
  2. Au cours des conversations sur Twitter, le Ministère et/ou le ministre répondront seulement aux questions portant sur le sujet indiqué.
  3. Les réponses seront affichées dans la langue dans laquelle la question originale a été posée. Les tweets ne seront pas reproduits dans l'autre langue officielle. Les réponses pourraient être traduites avant d'être affichées (un court délai pourrait en résulter).
  4. Nous répondrons aux questions seulement au cours de la période prédéterminée allouée à la discussion Twitter.
  5. Selon le nombre de questions qui seront reçues, le Ministère et/ou le ministre pourraient ne pas être en mesure de répondre à chacune d'entre elles.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du ministère, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Les façons habituelles de communiquer avec nous dans le cadre d'une correspondance officielle sont indiquées à la section Contactez-nous de notre site Web.

Coordonnées

Les comptes Twitter d'INFC sont gérés par l'équipe des communications électroniques de la Division des communications stratégiques d'Infrastructure Canada, dont les coordonnées sont les suivantes :

180, rue Kent
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1P 0B6
Courriel : infc.info.infc@canada.ca

Pour obtenir d'autres coordonnées, veuillez consulter la page Contactez-nous sur le site Web d'Infrastructure Canada.

Demandes de renseignements des médias

Les représentants des médias peuvent contacter l'équipe des relations avec les médias d'INFC (media@infc.gc.ca) durant les heures normales de bureau et en cas d'urgence après les heures normales de bureau.


Merci d'avoir pris le temps de lire nos conditions d'utilisation de Twitter. Nous vous encourageons à participer aux discussions et à échanger régulièrement vos idées avec nous.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de ces Conditions d'utilisations, Contactez-nous.

Date de modification :