Info Source 2013 (in English) - Text description - Figure 2: Programs

Base Funding

Funding is directed to provincial, territorial and municipal governments, addressing priorities in every jurisdiction and supporting the restoration of fiscal balance. Through the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Base Fund ($2.3 billion announced in Budget 2007), each jurisdiction receives base funding to address their core infrastructure priorities. Through the Gas Tax Fund ($2 billion annually confirmed in Budget 2011), municipalities are provided with predictable funding to address local infrastructure priorities.

Competitive Economy
Cleaner Environment
Liveable Communities

Targeted Programs

Building Canada Fund ($8.8 billion announced in Budget 2007) is largely delivered through two components, the Communities Component, oriented to projects in smaller communities, and the Major Infrastructure Component, oriented to larger infrastructure projects of national or regional significance. Infrastructure projects also benefit from the Green Infrastructure Fund ($1 billion announced in Budget 2009), oriented to projects that improve the environment and the economy.

Sunsetting Programs

Other programs include: the Canada Strategic Infrastructure Fund ($4.3 billion, announced in the 2001, 2003 and 2006 Budgets), supporting larger projects that sustain economic growth and improve quality of life; the Municipal Rural Infrastructure Fund ($1.2 billion announced in Budget 2003 and augmented in 2006), enhancing liveability through small scale municipal projects in urban and rural communities; and the Border Infrastructure Fund ($600 million announced in Budget 2001), investing in physical and transportation system infrastructure and improved analytical capacity at border crossings.

Date modified:

Info Source 2013 en français - description textuelle - Figure 2 : Programmes

Financement de base

Le financement est versé aux administrations provinciales, territoriales et municipales, dans le but de rétablir leurs équilibre financier et de répondre à leurs priorités. Grâce au Financement de base pour les infrastructures des P/T (2,3 milliards de dollars annoncés dans le Budget 2007), chaque province et chaque territoire reçoit un financement de base pour répondre à ses priorités en matière d'infrastructure de base. Grâce au Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence (2 milliards de dollars par année, confirmés dans le Budget 2011), les municipalités obtiennent un financement prévisible pour répondre à leurs priorités.

Économie concurrentielle
Environnement sain
Collectivités habitables

Programmes ciblés

Le Fonds Chantiers Canada (8,8 milliards annoncés dans le Budget 2007) comporte deux grands volets, soit le volet Collectivités, visant des projets dans de petites collectivités, et le volet Grandes infrastructures, visant des projets à plus grande échelle d'importance nationale ou régionale. Les projets d'infrastructure peuvent également être financés par l'intermédiaire du Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte (1 milliard de dollars annoncés dans le Budget 2009), visant des projets qui contribuent à améliorer l'environnement et l'économie.

Programmes en fin de vie

Les autres programmes comprennent : le Fonds canadien sur l'infrastructure stratégique (4,3 milliards de dollars annoncés dans le Budget de 2001, 2003 et 2006), pour soutenir de grands projets qui stimulent la croissance économique et améliorent la qualité de vie; le Fonds sur l'infrastructure municipale rurale (1,2 milliard de dollars annoncés dans le Budget 2003 et bonifiés en 2006), pour améliorer la qualité de vie dans les collectivités urbaines et rurales grâce à de petits projets municipaux; le Fonds sur l'infrastructure frontalière (600 millions de dollars annoncés dans le Budget 2001), qui prévoit des investissements dans les infrastructures et les réseaux de transport, ainsi que l'amélioration de la capacité analytique à la frontière.

Date de modification :