Our Deputy Minister - Jean-François Tremblay

Deputy Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities

Jean-François Tremblay

Jean-François Tremblay was appointed Deputy Minister, Transport, Infrastructure and Communities (TIC) on July 20, 2015.

Before joining the TIC portfolio, Mr. Tremblay was Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations), Privy Council Office, since April 22, 2013.

Previously, he was with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, where he held the position of Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government, from 2012 to 2013. From 2010 to 2012, he was Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Strategic Direction.

Before joining Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, Mr. Tremblay worked with the Privy Council Office, serving as Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Priorities and Planning, from 2007 to 2010. Between 2006 and 2007, he worked in the Intergovernmental Affairs Secretariat, where he held the positions of Director General, Sectoral Analysis, followed by Assistant Deputy Minister, Intergovernmental Operations.

Between 2003 and 2006, Mr. Tremblay held several positions at Health Canada, including Director General, Policy Coordination and Planning in the Health Care Policy Directorate, and Executive Director, Health System Development, Strategic Policy, Planning and Analysis Directorate in the First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.  

Mr. Tremblay joined the federal public service in 2000 as a policy analyst with the Privy Council Office, holding a variety of responsibilities with Intergovernmental Affairs and the Social Development Policy Secretariat.

Mr. Tremblay holds a Ph.D. in Political Science from Université Laval.

Notre Sous-ministre - Jean-François Tremblay

Sous-ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités

Monsieur Jean-François Tremblay

M. Jean-François Tremblay a été nommé sous-ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités (TIC) le 20 juillet 2015.

Avant de se joindre au portefeuille des TIC, M. Tremblay était sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Opérations) au sein du Bureau du Conseil privé depuis le 22 avril 2013.

Auparavant, de 2012 à 2013, M. Tremblay a occupé le poste de sous-ministre adjoint principal, Traités et gouvernement autochtone, pour le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada. De 2010 à 2012, il a occupé le poste de sous-ministre adjoint principal, Politiques et orientation stratégique, pour ce même ministère.

Avant de se joindre au ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada, M. Tremblay a travaillé pour le Bureau du Conseil privé à titre de secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Priorités et planification) de 2007 à 2010. Entre 2006 et 2007, il a travaillé au sein du Secrétariat des Affaires intergouvernementales, où il a occupé les postes de directeur général, Analyse sectorielle, puis de sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations gouvernementales.

Entre 2003 et 2006, il a occupé plusieurs postes au sein de Santé Canada, notamment à titre de directeur général de la Coordination des politiques et planification pour la Direction des politiques de soins de santé, puis de directeur exécutif, Élaboration des systèmes de santé au sein de la Direction des politiques, planification et analyse stratégiques de la Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits.

M. Tremblay s'est joint à la fonction publique en 2000 en tant qu'analyste des politiques pour le Bureau du Conseil privé, où il a occupé une variété de responsabilités au sein des Affaires intergouvernementales et du Secrétariat de la Politique et du développement social.

M. Tremblay possède un doctorat en science politique de l'Université Laval.