Canada Infrastructure Bank



As part of the Government of Canada's historic Investing in Canada plan, the Canada Infrastructure Bank is a new tool that our partners could use to build more infrastructure in communities across Canada.

The additional projects the bank invests in would contribute to our long-term economic growth and support the creation of good, well-paying jobs for the middle class. These investments would also help us achieve our goals of lowering GHG emissions and building communities that are socially inclusive.

The Bank would be an additional tool to build new infrastructure by attracting private sector and institutional investors to support the transformational infrastructure that Canadian communities need.

From green energy transmission to trade and transportation and beyond, the Bank would help public dollars go further by enabling us to invest in projects that deliver a return. This would keep our grant dollars for those projects, like affordable housing and community centres that require public dollars.

If approved by Parliament, the Bank would invest $35 billion from the federal government into transformative infrastructure projects.  $15 billion would be sourced from the over $180 billion Investing in Canada infrastructure plan, including:

  • $5 billion for public transit systems;
  • $5 billion for trade and transportation corridors; and,
  • $5 billion for green infrastructure projects, including those that reduce greenhouse gas emissions, deliver clean air and safe water systems, and promote renewable power.

Specifically, the Bank would:

  • Invest in infrastructure projects that have revenue-generating potential and are in the public interest;
  • Attract private sector and institutional investors to projects so that more infrastructure can be built in Canada;
  • Serve as a centre of expertise on infrastructure projects in which private sector or institutional investors are making a significant investment;
  • Foster evidence-based decision making and advise all orders of government on the design of revenue-generating projects; and
  • Collect and share data to help governments make better decisions about infrastructure investments.

The Bank would be accountable to Parliament through its responsible Minister.  Specific accountability measures would include: 

  • Requiring the Bank to seek the Government's approval of its Corporate Plan annually, and tabling the summary of the plan as well as its annual report in Parliament;
  • Audits by the Auditor General as well as a private sector auditor appointed annually by the Government, which is the highest standard of accountability required of Crown corporations; and,
  • A review of the operation of the Bank by the responsible Minister and Parliament every five years.  

As an arm's length Crown Corporation, the Bank would be led by a Chief Executive Officer and governed by a Chairperson and Board of Directors.

On May 8, 2017, the Government of Canada launched open, transparent and merit-based selection processes to identify the Bank’s senior leadership with the goal of having the Canada Infrastructure Bank operational in late 2017, subject to Parliamentary approval. For more details, read the news release.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Why are you setting up the Canada Infrastructure Bank?

The Bank is intended to amplify federal support by bringing private sector and institutional investors to the table to help pay for the transformational infrastructure projects our country needs. The creation of the Bank is part of the Government of Canada’s historic infrastructure plan – investing more than $180 billion over 12 years.

The government’s plan will continue to largely be delivered through traditional infrastructure funding models. The Bank would be one new tool that federal, provincial, territorial, municipal, and Indigenous partners could choose to use to build more public infrastructure projects.

2. What would the Canada Infrastructure Bank do?

The Bank would use federal support to attract private sector and institutional investment to new revenue-generating infrastructure projects that are in the public interest.

The Bank would also:

  • Provide advisory capacity to work with public sponsors, including to help develop a pipeline of projects that could be of interest to investors and provide the biggest economic, social and environmental returns;
  • Act as a centre of expertise on infrastructure projects in which the private sector is making a significant investment; and
  • Work with the federal, provincial, territorial and municipal governments to collect and disseminate data to monitor and assess the state of Canadian infrastructure and better inform future infrastructure investment decisions.
3. How does the Bank fit into the Investing in Canada plan?

The Investing in Canada plan includes over $180 billion of significant investments in public transit, green infrastructure, social infrastructure, trade and transportation, and Canada’s rural and northern communities. As part of the Investing in Canada plan, the Bank will be one more tool that our partners can use to build more infrastructure in communities across Canada.

The Bank would invest at least $35 billion from the federal government into transformative infrastructure projects that contribute to economic growth and support the creation of good, well-paying jobs for the middle class.

  • $15 billion would be sourced from the over $180 billion Investing in Canada infrastructure plan, including:
    • $5 billion for public transit systems;
    • $5 billion for trade and transportation corridors; and,
    • $5 billion for green infrastructure projects, including those that reduce greenhouse gas emissions, deliver clean air and safe water systems, and promote renewable power.
  • $20 billion in capital would be available for investments which would result in the Bank holding assets—in the form of equity or debt. This amount would therefore not result in a fiscal impact for the government.
4. What types of projects would the Bank support?

The Bank would make investments in infrastructure projects that have a public sponsor, generate revenue and are in the public interest. A key consideration for the Bank will be whether the project attracts or “crowds-in” private sector capital that would not have otherwise been invested in public infrastructure.

The Bank’s investments would be made strategically, with a focus on transformative projects such as public transit plans, transportation networks and electricity grid interconnections.

The Bank would work with federal departments, other orders of government and potential private sector investors to determine whether projects are suitable.

5. What financial tools would the Bank have available to it?

The Bank would have a wide range of financial instruments at its disposal, including debt and equity. The specific financial instruments used would depend on what makes most sense for any given project.

6. How would the Bank support provinces, territories and municipalities?

The Bank would provide an additional option for federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal project sponsors to advance projects that could be suitable candidates for revenue generation.

This would help provinces, territories, and municipalities build new infrastructure that might not have otherwise been built, increasing overall service levels for Canadians.

The bank is an additional tool that our partners can use if they decide to. No one will be required to use the Bank.

7. How would the Bank be governed?

The Bank would be structured as an arm’s length Crown corporation. Crown corporations are distinct legal entities established by the government to pursue public policy and commercial objectives. The Bank would be led by a Chief Executive Officer and governed by a Board of Directors. The Bank will hire employees with the talent and expertise necessary to develop and execute transactions in a manner that delivers the best value for public resources.

Though arm’s length, the Bank will be responsive and accountable to the Government and Parliament through its responsible Minister.

The Bank would be required to seek the Government’s approval of its Corporate Plan annually, and table the summary of the plan as well as its annual report in Parliament.

It would also be accountable to both the Auditor General and a private sector auditor, which is the highest standard of accountability required of Crown corporations. As well, the responsible Minister and Parliament would review the operations of the Bank every five years.

The Government would be responsible for setting the overall policy direction and high-level investment priorities. In addition, the Bank would work with all orders of government as well as investors to identify the pipeline of potential projects and potential investment opportunities.

8. When will the Bank be operational?

The Government is working towards the goal of having the Bank operational in late 2017.

Date modified:

Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada



Dans le cadre du plan historique du gouvernement du Canada Investir dans le Canada, la Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada constitue un nouvel outil que nos partenaires pourront utiliser pour mettre en place plus d'infrastructures dans les collectivités de tout le pays.

Les projets additionnels dans lesquels la Banque investira contribueront à notre croissance économique à long terme et appuieront la création de bons emplois bien rémunérés pour la classe moyenne. Ces investissements nous aideront aussi à atteindre nos objectifs visant à réduire les émissions de GES et à bâtir des collectivités inclusives sur le plan social.

La Banque sera un outil supplémentaire pour mettre en place de nouvelles infrastructures en attirant des investisseurs institutionnels et du secteur privé afin d'appuyer les infrastructures transformatrices dont les collectivités canadiennes ont besoin.  

Qu'il soit question de transport d'énergie verte, de commerce et de transport, ou d'autres projets, la Banque permettra d'en faire plus avec les fonds publics en nous permettant d'investir dans des projets qui offriront un rendement. Nous pourrons ainsi conserver les fonds de subvention pour ces projets qui nécessitent des fonds publics, comme le logement abordable et les centres communautaires.

La Banque investira 35 milliards de dollars du gouvernement fédéral dans des projets d'infrastructure transformateurs. Des fonds de 15 milliards de dollars proviendront du plan d'infrastructure Investir dans le Canada de plus de 180 milliards de dollars, ce qui comprend :
  • 5 milliards de dollars pour les réseaux de transport en commun;
  • 5 milliards de dollars pour les corridors de commerce et de transport; et
  • 5 milliards de dollars pour les projets d'infrastructure verte, y compris ceux qui permettent de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, de favoriser l'assainissement de l'air, de mettre en place des réseaux d'aqueduc sécuritaires, et de faire la promotion de l'énergie renouvelable.

En particulier, la Banque :

  • investira dans des projets d'infrastructure ayant un potentiel de génération de revenus et relevant de l'intérêt public;
  • attirera des investisseurs institutionnels et du secteur privé souhaitant participer aux projets, pour qu'on puisse bâtir davantage d'infrastructures au Canada;  
  • servira de centre d'expertise pour les projets d'infrastructure, pour lesquels les investisseurs institutionnels et du secteur privé effectuent des investissements importants;
  • favorisera une prise de décisions fondées sur des preuves et permettra de conseiller tous les autres ordres de gouvernement au sujet de la conception de projets permettant de générer des revenus; et
  • recueillera et transmettra des données pour aider les gouvernements à prendre de meilleures décisions au sujet des investissements en infrastructure.

La Banque sera tenue de rendre des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise de son ministre responsable. Les mesures de reddition de compte incluront :

  • l'exigence que la Banque obtienne chaque année l'approbation du gouvernement pour son plan organisationnel, et dépose le plan et son rapport annuel au Parlement;   
  • l'exigence que des vérifications soient menées par le vérificateur général et par un vérificateur du secteur privé nommé chaque année par le gouvernement, ce qui constitue la norme la plus élevée en matière de reddition de comptes requise pour les sociétés d'État; et
  • l'exigence que le ministre responsable et le Parlement effectuent un examen des activités de la Banque tous les cinq ans.

À titre de société d'État autonome, la Banque sera dirigée par un président-directeur général et régie par un conseil d'administration.

Foire aux questions

1. Pourquoi créer la Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada?

La Banque vise à bonifier le soutien fédéral en attirant des investisseurs institutionnels et du secteur privé qui aideront à financer les projets d'infrastructure transformateurs dont notre pays a besoin. La création de la Banque est prévue dans le plan d'infrastructure historique du gouvernement du Canada, dont l'objectif est d'investir plus de 180 milliards de dollars sur 12 ans.

Le plan du gouvernement continuera d'être mis en œuvre en grande partie selon les modèles traditionnels de financement des infrastructures. La Banque sera un nouvel outil que les partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux et autochtones pourraient choisir d'utiliser pour réaliser davantage de projets d'infrastructure publique.

2. Que fera la Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada?

La Banque utilisera le soutien du gouvernement fédéral pour attirer des investissements du secteur privé et des institutions pour réaliser de nouveaux projets d'infrastructure qui permettront de générer des revenus et qui seront dans l'intérêt du public.

La Banque assumera également les fonctions suivantes :

  • offrir des capacités de consultation pour collaborer avec les commanditaires publics, y compris pour préparer une liste de projets qui pourraient intéresser les investisseurs et entraîner les retours les plus importants sur les plans économique, social et environnemental;
  • agir à titre de centre d'expertise au sujet des projets d'infrastructure dans lesquels le secteur privé effectue un investissement considérable; et
  • travailler avec les administrations fédérale, provinciales, territoriales et municipales afin de recueillir et de diffuser des données permettant de surveiller et d'évaluer l'état des infrastructures au Canada, ainsi que de mieux orienter les décisions à venir au sujet des investissements en infrastructure.
3. Comment la Banque s'intègre-t-elle dans le plan Investir dans le Canada?

Le plan Investir dans le Canada comprend d'importants investissements de plus de 180 milliards de dollars dans le transport en commun, les infrastructures vertes, les infrastructures sociales, le commerce et les transports, de même que les collectivités rurales et nordiques du Canada. Dans le cadre du plan Investir dans le Canada, la Banque sera un autre outil que nos partenaires pourront utiliser pour bâtir plus d'infrastructures dans les collectivités du Canada.

La Banque investira au moins 35 milliards de dollars du gouvernement fédéral dans des projets d'infrastructure transformateurs qui contribueront à la croissance économique et appuieront la création de bons emplois bien rémunérés pour la classe moyenne.

  • 15 milliards de dollars proviendront du plan d'infrastructure Investir dans le Canada de plus de 180 milliards de dollars, ce qui comprend :
    • 5 milliards de dollars pour les réseaux de transport en commun;
    • 5 milliards de dollars pour les corridors de commerce et de transport; et
    • 5 milliards de dollars pour les projets d'infrastructure verte, y compris ceux qui permettent de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, de favoriser l'assainissement de l'air, de mettre en place des réseaux d'aqueduc sécuritaires et de faire la promotion de l'énergie renouvelable.
  • 20 milliards de dollars de capital seront mis à la disposition de la Banque pour des investissements qui lui permettront de détenir des actifs, sous la forme de capitaux propres ou de créances. Ce montant n'entraînera donc pas d'incidences fiscales pour le gouvernement.
4. Quels types de projets la Banque appuiera-t-elle?

La Banque fera des investissements dans des projets d'infrastructure qui auront un commanditaire public, qui généreront des revenus et qui seront dans l'intérêt du public. La Banque cherchera à déterminer si un projet permet d'attirer des capitaux du secteur privé qui n'auraient pas autrement été investis dans les infrastructures publiques.

Les investissements de la Banque seront effectués de manière stratégique, en mettant l'accent sur les projets transformateurs comme les plans de transport en commun, les réseaux de transport et les branchements entre les réseaux électriques.

La Banque collaborera avec les ministères fédéraux, d'autres ordres de gouvernement et des investisseurs potentiels du secteur privé pour déterminer si les projets sont appropriés.

5. De quels outils financiers la Banque disposera-t-elle?

La Banque disposera d'une vaste gamme d'outils financiers, y compris le financement par emprunt et de financement par actions. Les outils financiers particuliers qui seront employés dépendraient des circonstances propres à chaque projet.

6. Comment la Banque appuiera-t-elle les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités?

La Banque offrira aux promoteurs de projets fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux une option additionnelle pour mettre de l'avant des projets qui pourraient permettre de générer des revenus.

On aidera ainsi les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités à bâtir de nouvelles infrastructures qui n'auraient peut-être pas pu être construites autrement, ce qui améliorera le niveau de service général pour les Canadiens.

La Banque est un outil additionnel que nos partenaires peuvent utiliser s'ils le souhaitent. Personne ne sera tenu d'avoir recours aux services de la Banque.

7. Comment la Banque sera-t-elle régie?

La Banque sera structurée à titre de société d'État fonctionnant de manière autonome. Les sociétés d'État sont des entités légales distinctes établies par le gouvernement en vue d'atteindre des objectifs commerciaux et des objectifs liés aux politiques d'intérêt public. La Banque sera dirigée par un président-directeur général et régie par un conseil d'administration. La Banque emploiera des gens qui auront le talent et l'expertise nécessaires pour préparer et exécuter les transactions de manière à optimiser l'utilisation des ressources publiques.

Même si elle sera une entité autonome, la Banque sera tenue de rendre des comptes au gouvernement et au Parlement par l'entremise de son ministre responsable.

La Banque sera tenue d'obtenir chaque année l'approbation du gouvernement en ce qui concerne son plan organisationnel, en plus de déposer le plan et son rapport annuel au Parlement.

La Banque sera aussi tenue de rendre des comptes au vérificateur général et à un vérificateur du secteur privé, ce qui constitue la norme de reddition de compte la plus élevée requise pour une société d'État. Enfin, le ministre responsable et le Parlement examineront les activités de la Banque tous les cinq ans.

Le gouvernement aura la responsabilité d'établir l'orientation politique générale et de fixer les grandes priorités en ce qui concerne les investissements. De plus, la Banque travaillera avec tous les ordres de gouvernement, ainsi qu'avec les investisseurs, pour identifier des projets potentiels et d'éventuelles possibilités d'investissements.

8. Quand la Banque sera-t-elle opérationnelle?

L'objectif du gouvernement est que la Banque soit opérationnelle d'ici la fin de 2017.

Date de modification :