Members of the Canada Infrastructure Bank Board of Directors - Biographies



Janice Fukakusa

Janice Fukakusa, Chairperson, Canada Infrastructure Bank

Janice Fukakusa
Chairperson, Canada
Infrastructure Bank

Ms. Fukakusa is a corporate director and former Chief Administrative Officer and Chief Financial Officer of Royal Bank of Canada, from which she retired in January 2017 following a distinguished 31-year career.

Ms. Fukakusa currently serves on the boards of a number of corporate and not-for-profit organizations, including Cineplex, General Growth Properties, The Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation, and Wellspring Cancer Foundation. She serves as the Chair of the Board of Governors of Ryerson University.

In 2007, she was inducted into Canada's Most Powerful Women Hall of Fame and, in 2016 she was named one of the 25 Most Powerful Women in Banking by American Banker magazine for the fourth consecutive year. She was also selected as Canada's CFO of the Year by Financial Executives Canada, PwC and Robert Half in 2014.

Prior to joining RBC, Ms. Fukakusa worked at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP where she obtained the professional designations of Chartered Professional Accountant and Chartered Business Valuator. She obtained a Bachelor of Arts from University of Toronto and holds a Master of Business Administration from Schulich School of Business.

Kimberly Baird

Kimberly Baird

Kimberly Baird

Ms. Baird is the founder of Kim Baird Strategic Consulting and former elected Chief and Strategic Initiatives Director of the self-governing Tsawwassen First Nation.

Ms. Baird currently serves on the boards of numerous organizations including the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, the Public Policy Forum, the Clear Seas Centre for Responsible Marine Shipping and the Vancouver Board of Trade. She also served on the Board of BC Hydro for six years. Ms. Baird holds an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

In 2016, Ms. Baird was awarded the Order of British Columbia after being named a Member of the Order of Canada two years earlier. She is also a recipient of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Indspire Award, and, in 2008, was awarded Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award.

Jane Bird

Jane Bird

Jane Bird

Ms. Bird is a Senior Business Advisor with the Vancouver office of Bennett Jones LLP, a large Canadian law firm where she provides advice to private and public sector clients on matters related to the development and execution of infrastructure projects.

Jane has been directly involved with large projects for more than 20 years, including the development and construction of the Canada Line rapid transit project in Vancouver, the construction of the Waneta hydroelectric generating station in southeastern BC and the redevelopment of Canada House in London, U.K. Jane serves on the boards of several Canadian companies.

Ms. Bird has received several awards; Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award and the Vancouver Board of Trade Sprit of Vancouver Outstanding Leadership Award. Most recently, Jane received the 2017 National Outstanding Leader Award from the Women's Infrastructure Network.

Ms. Bird holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from Dalhousie University and an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Dave Bronconnier

Dave Bronconnier

Dave Bronconnier

Mr. Bronconnier is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Interloq Capital Inc. and former Mayor of Calgary, where he served three consecutive terms between 2001 and 2010. Following his third term as Mayor, Mr. Bronconnier was appointed Alberta Envoy to the United States where he served between 2011 and 2012.

Over the course of his career Mr. Bronconnier has been awarded the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Golden Jubilee Medal and the World Leadership Award for Environmental Excellence from the World Leadership Forum in London, UK. He was also made a Paul Harris Fellow by Rotary International and was twice-awarded the Distinguished Service Medal from the Canadian Military.

James Cherry

James Cherry

James Cherry

Mr. Cherry is the former President and CEO of Aéroports de Montréal and has served in numerous leadership positions within the Aerospace, Defence and Transportation sectors, including as President and Chief Operating Officer of Alstom Transport and of CAE Electronics Ltd., as President and General Manager of Bombardier Inc.'s Amphibious Aircraft Division, and as President of Oerlikon Aerospace Inc.

Mr. Cherry is a Chartered Professional Accountant and holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from McGill University. In 2003, Mr. Cherry was named a Fellow of the Order of Chartered Professional Accountants of Quebec. He is also a recipient of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal, awarded in 2012.

Michèle Colpron

Michèle Colpron

Michèle Colpron

Ms. Colpron currently serves on the boards of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ, the Professional Insurance Liability Fund of the Barreau of Quebec, and the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada.

Prior to these appointments, Ms. Colpron served 12 years with the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec in the roles of Senior Vice-President of Financial Management, Vice-President of Investment Administration, and Vice-President of Finance and Administration – Private Equity. She has also held senior positions in overseas banks, serving as Chief Financial Officer of both Merrill Lynch Bank (Suisse) S. A. and Standard Chartered Bank (Switzerland) S. A.

In 2016, Ms. Colpron was named Fellow of the Order of Chartered Professional Accountants of Quebec (FCPA, FCA). She is also a qualified corporate director duly accredited by Laval University. She holds a Bachelor of Business Administration from HEC Montréal.

Bruno Guilmette

Bruno Guilmette

Bruno Guilmette

Mr. Guilmette currently serves as President of the Plan A Capital Advisory Committee. He previously served on the Executive Committee and Board of the Global Infrastructure Investor Association and as the Senior Vice-President of Infrastructure at PSP Investments.

Prior to his appointment with PSP Investments, Mr. Guilmette served as the Senior Director of Investments/Infrastructure, Services and Distribution at the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec. He has also served on the boards of other organizations, including AviAlliance, Isolux Infrastructure, Transelec, Southern Star and Myria/NGPL.

Mr. Guilmette holds a Bachelor of Commerce from HEC Montréal, along with a Master of Business Administration from McGill University and an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors. Mr. Guilmette is also a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA) and holds the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Christopher Hickman

Christopher Hickman

Christopher Hickmank

Mr. Hickman is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Marco Group of Companies. He currently serves on the boards of a number of other organizations, including Nalcor Energy, Labrador Island Link Operating Corporation, Muskrat Falls Corporation, Swilers RFC and the Newfoundland and Labrador Employers Council. He is an honorary Life Member of the Royal St. John's Regatta Committee. Prior to his appointment as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Marco Group, Mr. Hickman served as Vice-President of Finance at Marco Group and as President of MarcoProperties Limited and Marco Developments Limited.

Mr. Hickman holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Dalhousie University and a Masters in Business Administration from Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador. He has been named one of Atlantic Business Magazine's Top 50 CEOs for five consecutive years, securing a spot in the magazine's Top 50 CEO Hall of Fame in 2011.

Poonam Puri

Poonam Puri

Poonam Puri

Ms. Puri is an experienced corporate director and professor of business law at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto. She is also a practising lawyer and affiliated scholar at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP. Ms. Puri recently completed a nine-year term on the board of the Greater Toronto Airports Authority (GTAA) and currently serves on the boards of several public and private companies. She has served as a director of Women's College Hospital, and she now sits on the Board of Trustees of Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital in Toronto.

In 2015 and 2017, Ms. Puri was recognized as one of the top 25 most influential lawyers in Canada by Canadian Lawyer Magazine. She has been named one of the 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada, and she is a past recipient of Canada's Top 40 under 40 Award.

Ms. Puri earned her Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Toronto, and she holds a Master of Laws degree from Harvard Law School.

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

Mr. Smith is the Co-Founder, Chair, and Chief Executive Officer of First National Financial LP. He also serves as Chair of the Canada Guaranty Mortgage Insurance Company and as a board member of various organizations, including Empire Life Insurance Company and the C.D. Howe Institute. He is a member of the Business Council of Canada.

Mr. Smith also served for ten years as a board member of Metrolinx Inc./GO Transit, both as Vice-Chairman and as Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee.

Mr. Smith holds a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from Queen's University and a Master of Economic Science, with a specialization in the Economics of Industry, from the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Patricia Youzwa

Patricia Youzwa

Patricia Youzwa

Ms. Youzwa is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of SaskPower. She is the current Chair of the Pooled Funds Advisory Committee for Greystone Managed Investments, the Saskatchewan Vice-Chair of the Canada West Foundation and the RBC Woman Executive in Residence at the Hill School of Business, University of Regina.

Ms. Youzwa has served as Deputy Minister of Economic Development and as Deputy Minister of Energy and Mines for the Government of Saskatchewan. She has also served as a director on numerous boards and has held policy advisory roles at the national level with such organizations as the Canadian Electricity Association, the Energy Council of Canada, the Conference Board of Canada, the Canada Alberta ecoEnergy Task Force on Carbon Capture and Storage and the Minister's Advisory Council on Energy Science and Technology.

Ms. Youzwa holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the University of Saskatchewan and a Master of Arts in Economics from the University of Toronto. In 2012, she was awarded the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal and, in 2011, received the Lieutenant Governor's Gold Medal for Excellence in Public Administration.

Date modified:

Membres du conseil d'administration de la Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada - Biographies



Janice Fukakusa

Janice Fukakusa, Présidente, Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada

Janice Fukakusa
Présidente, Banque de
l'infrastructure du Canada

Administratrice d'entreprise, Mme Fukakusa est également l'ancienne chef de l'administration et directrice financière de la Banque Royale du Canada, dont elle a pris sa retraite en janvier 2017 après une carrière remarquable de 31 ans.

Actuellement, Mme Fukakusa siège aux conseils de nombreuses organisations d'affaires et sans but lucratif, notamment Cineplex, General Growth Properties, la Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation et la Wellspring Cancer Foundation. Elle préside aussi le conseil des gouverneurs de l'Université Ryerson.

En 2007, elle a été intronisée au Temple de la renommée des femmes les plus influentes au Canada et, en 2016, elle a été nommée l'une des 25 femmes les plus puissantes dans le secteur des services bancaires par le magasine American Banker pour la quatrième année de suite. Elle a aussi été sélectionnée comme directrice financière de l'année au Canada par Financial Executives Canada, PwC et Robert Half en 2014.

Avant de se joindre à la RBC, Mme Fukakusa a travaillé à PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, où elle a obtenu les titres professionnels de comptable professionnelle agréée et d'experte en évaluation d'entreprise. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université de Toronto ainsi qu'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'École de commerce Schulich.

Kimberly Baird

Kimberly Baird

Kimberly Baird

Mme Baird est la fondatrice de Kim Baird Strategic Consulting, et elle était auparavant élue à titre de chef et de directrice des Initiatives stratégiques, Première Nation autonome Tsawwassen.

Mme Baird siège actuellement aux conseils d'administration de plusieurs organisations, notamment le Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, le Forum des politiques publiques, le Centre de transport maritime responsable de Clear Seas et la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver. Elle a également siégé au conseil d'administration de BC hydro pendant six ans. Mme Baird est titulaire d'une désignation IAS.A de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

En 2016, Mme Baird a été décorée de l'Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique, après avoir été nommée membre de l'Ordre du Canada deux ans plus tôt. On lui a également décerné la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine, le prix Indspire, et en 2008, elle a été nommée parmi les  100 femmes les plus influentes au Canada.

Jane Bird

Jane Bird

Jane Bird

Mme Bird est conseillère principale en affaires au cabinet juridique Bennett Jones LLP de Vancouver, un important cabinet juridique canadien, où elle offre des conseils à des clients des secteurs public et privé au sujet de questions liées au développement et à l'exécution de divers projets d'infrastructure.  

Depuis plus de 20 ans, Mme Bird a joué un rôle actif dans le cadre d'importants projets, notamment le développement et la réalisation du projet de transport rapide Canada Line à Vancouver, la construction de la station hydroélectrique Waneta dans le sud-est de la C.-B., et le réaménagement de la Maison du Canada à Londres, au Royaume-Uni. Jane siège aux conseils d'administration de plusieurs sociétés canadiennes.  

Mme Bird a reçu plusieurs prix : elle été nommée parmi les 100 femmes les plus influentes au Canada, et la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver lui a décerné le prix Spirit of Vancouver pour un leadership exceptionnel. Plus récemment, elle a remporté le prix national de leader exceptionnelle de 2017 du Women's Infrastructure Network.

Mme Bird a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Dalhousie, ainsi que le titre de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés (IAS.A).

Dave Bronconnier

Dave Bronconnier

Dave Bronconnier

M. Bronconnier est le président-directeur général d'Interloq Capital Inc., et il a été élu maire de Calgary à trois reprises consécutives entre 2001 et 2010. Après son troisième mandat à titre de maire, M. Bronconnier a été nommé délégué de l'Alberta aux États-Unis, et il a assumé cette fonction entre 2011 et 2012.

Au cours de sa carrière, M. Bronconnier a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine, la Médaille du jubilé d'or et le Prix du leadership mondial en excellence environnementale du World Leadership Forum à Londres, au Royaume-Uni. Il a aussi été nommé membre Paul Harris du club Rotary International et on lui a décerné à deux reprises la Médaille du service distingué des Forces armées canadiennes.

James Cherry

James Cherry

James Cherry

M. Cherry est l'ancien président-directeur général des Aéroports de Montréal, et il a occupé plusieurs postes de leadership dans les secteurs de l'aérospatiale, de la défense et des transports, notamment à titre de président-directeur général d'Alstom Transport et de CAE Electronics Ltd., à titre de président-directeur général de la Division des aéronefs amphibies chez Bombardier Inc., et en tant que président d'Oerlikon Aerospace Inc.

M. Cherry est comptable professionnel agréé et il a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université McGill. En 2003, M. Cherry a reçu le titre de Fellow de l'Ordre des Comptables Professionnels Agréés du Québec. Il a également reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine en 2012.

Michèle Colpron

Michèle Colpron

Michèle Colpron

Mme Colpron siège actuellement aux conseils d'administration du Fonds de solidarité FTQ, du Fonds d'assurance responsabilité professionnelle du Barreau du Québec, et de l'Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières.

Avant ces nominations, Mme Colpron a assumé pendant 12 ans les fonctions de vice-présidente principale à la gestion financière, de vice-présidente à l'administration des investissements, et de vice-présidente aux finances et à l'administration (portefeuilles de placements privés), à la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec. Elle a également occupé des postes de direction dans des banques à l'étranger, notamment à titre de chef des finances à la Banque Merrill Lynch (Suisse) S. A. et à la Standard Chartered Bank (Suisse) S. A.

En 2016, Mme  Colpron a reçu le titre de Fellow de l'Ordre des Comptables Professionnels Agréés du Québec (FCPA, FCA). Elle est également une administratrice de sociétés qualifiée dûment accréditée par l'Université Laval. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de HEC Montréal.

Bruno Guilmette

Bruno Guilmette

Bruno Guilmette

M. Guilmette est actuellement le président du comité consultatif de Plan A Capital. Il a siégé auparavant au comité exécutif du conseil d'administration de la Global Infrastructure Investor Association, et il a été le vice-président principal, Infrastructures, chez PSP Investments.

Avant sa nomination chez PSP Investments, M. Guilmette a été directeur principal, Investissements/Infrastructures, Services et Distribution à la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec. Il a également siégé aux conseils d'administration d'autres organisations, y compris AviAlliance, Isolux Infrastructure, Transelec, Southern Star et Myria/NGPL.

M. Guilmette a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce de HEC Montréal, une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université McGill, ainsi qu'une certification IAS.A de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. Il est également comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), et titulaire de la désignation d'analyste financier agréé (CFA).

Christopher Hickman

Christopher Hickman

Christopher Hickmank

M. Hickman est le président-directeur général de Marco Group of Companies. Il siège actuellement aux conseils d'administration de plusieurs autres organisations, notamment Nalcor Energy, Labrador Island Link Operating Corporation, Muskrat Falls Corporation, le Swilers RFC et le Newfoundland and Labrador Employers Council. Il est membre honoraire à vie du Royal St. John's Regatta Committee. Avant sa nomination à titre de président-directeur général de Marco Group, M. Hickman a été vice-président aux finances pour le même groupe, ainsi que président de Marco Properties Limited et de Marco Developments Limited.

M. Hickman a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université Dalhousie et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université Mémorial de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il a été nommé parmi les 50 meilleurs PDG selon l'Atlantic Business Magazine pendant cinq années consécutives, et il a ainsi obtenu une place au temple de la renommée des 50 meilleurs PDG selon le magazine en 2011.

Poonam Puri

Poonam Puri

Poonam Puri

Mme Puri, administratrice de sociétés chevronnée, est également professeure de droit commercial à la Faculté de droit Osgoode Hall de Toronto. Elle pratique le droit à titre d'avocate et elle est chercheuse affiliée chez Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP. Mme Puri a récemment terminé un mandat de neuf ans au conseil d'administration de l'Autorité aéroportuaire du Grand Toronto, et elle siège actuellement aux conseils d'administration de plusieurs sociétés publiques et privées. Elle a été membre du conseil d'administration du Women's College Hospital, et elle siège actuellement au conseil des fiduciaires du Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital à Toronto.En 2015 et en 2017, Mme Puri a figuré sur la liste des 25 avocats les plus influents au Canada selon le Canadian Lawyer Magazine. Elle a également fait partie des 100 femmes les plus influentes du Canada, et elle a été nommée parmi les 40 Canadiens les plus performants de moins de 40 ans.

Mme Puri a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université de Toronto, et elle a obtenu une maîtrise en droit de l'École de droit de Harvard.

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

M. Smith est le cofondateur, le président et le directeur général de First National Financial LP. Il est également le président de la Canada Guaranty Mortgage Insurance Company, et siège aux conseils d'administration de diverses organisations, notamment l'Empire Life Insurance Company et l'Institut C.D. Howe. Il est membre du Conseil canadien des affaires.

M. Smith a également siégé pendant dix ans au conseil d'administration de Metrolinx Inc./GO Transit, à titre de vice-président du conseil d'administration et à titre de président du comité de la vérification et des finances.

M. Smith a obtenu un baccalauréat en génie électrique de l'université Queen's et une maîtrise en sciences économiques, avec spécialisation économie de l'industrie, de la London School of Economics and Political Science.

Patricia Youzwa

Patricia Youzwa

Patricia Youzwa

Mme Youzwa est l'ancienne présidente-directrice générale de SaskPower. Elle est la présidente du comité consultatif sur les fonds communs pour Greystone Managed Investments, la vice-présidente,  Saskatchewan, du Canada West Foundation et la RBC Woman Executive in Residence à l'école de commerce Hill, Université de Regina.  

Mme Youzwa a été sous-ministre du Développement économique et sous-ministre de l'Énergie et des Mines au gouvernement de la Saskatchewan. Elle a également siégé à de nombreux conseils d'administration et a rempli des rôles consultatifs en matière de politiques à l'échelle nationale auprès d'organismes tels que l'Association canadienne de l'électricité, le Conseil canadien de l'énergie, le Conference Board du Canada, le groupe de travail écoÉnergie Canada-Alberta sur le captage et le stockage du carbone, et le conseil consultatif du ministre sur les sciences et technologies de l'énergie.

Mme Youzwa a obtenu un baccalauréat en Économie de l'Université de la Saskatchewan et une maîtrise en Économie de l'Université de Toronto. En 2012, on lui a remis la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine, et en 2011, elle a reçu la médaille du lieutenant-gouverneur pour l'excellence dans l'administration publique.

Date de modification :